Nominations for new SCBO board members now open

We invite you to submit nominations for the next Board of Directors (BOD) elections for the Society for Conservation Biology Oceania Section. We have 2 members at large positions that will be opening. Successful candidates will serve 3 year terms.

If you know of someone who would be a good candidate for one of these positions (self-nominations are welcome) please submit a nomination form by e-mail to before 28th April 2017.

Diversity in SCB Oceania

Picture1Just prior to the SCBO 2016 Brisbane conference, we released a Draft Diversity Statement and invited members to provide feedback on how SCB Oceania can uphold its commitment to diversity.

During the conference we asked attendees to tweet using the #SCBODiversity hashtag and discussed the draft statement during a group session.

Finally, we asked for feedback in the post-conference survey, so in total we received some fantastic input.

Draft Diversity Statement

We seek your input into how SCB Oceania can uphold its commitment to diversity:

  • How do you define diversity in SCB Oceania?
  • What could SCB Oceania do to support a diverse, inclusive, and equitable membership and leadership?
  • What are some of your reasons for wanting to see diversity, inclusion, and equity in SCB Oceania?

Click through to find out how to have your input into drafting our SCB Oceania Diversity Statement.

Welcome our new SCB Oceania board members!

Congratulations to our two newly elected SCB Oceania board members – Danielle Shanahan and Tim Doherty!

Thanks to everyone who put their names forward for election, and to everyone who voted. We’re looking forward to meeting many of you at SCBO 2016. Please make a note to come along to our AGM, where we’ll be brainstorming new ways to engage with all our members on SCBO activities and initiatives in the next year.

Read more about Danielle and Tim below…

Voting for new SCB Oceania Section board members is on NOW!

We have (a record?) 11 members nominated to join the board, and two “member at large” positions available. The nominees are…

  • Kathleen Beyer
  • Alienor Chauvenet
  • Tim Doherty
  • Jean-Yves Meyer
  • Dominique Pelletier
  • Michele Raffin
  • Danielle Shanahan
  • Rebecca Stirnemann
  • Amelia Wenger
  • Jut Wynne
  • Liane Zeroes

You can read more about the candidates on the voting page. To vote, go to, log in to your member area, and click the link to vote in the first blue box on your member homepage. You must be an Oceania Section member to vote.

SCBO Board meeting & public forum in Brisbane

[caption id="attachment_651" align="aligncenter" width="2000"]SCBO Board members checking out the conference venue in Brisbane. L-R: Monica Awasthy, Stacy Jupiter, Vanessa Adams, Megan Evans & Richard Kingsford. Photo: Rebecca Weeks. SCBO Board members checking out the conference venue in Brisbane. L-R: Monica Awasthy, Stacy Jupiter, Vanessa Adams, Megan Evans & Richard Kingsford. Photo: Rebecca Weeks.[/caption]

Once each year, the SCBO board try to get together face-to-face to discuss Section business. Last Thursday and Friday, most of us met up in Brisbane. Our discussions were primarily focussed on reviewing and updating our workplans – outlining and planning what we will do (Capacity, Conferences, Science and Education and Policy and Management) over the next year in line with our Strategic Plan.

Get ready for SCBO 2016!

UntitledNow that ICCB 2015 is over, it’s time to turn attention towards our own regional conservation conference in 2016!

The fourth biannual meeting of the Society for Conservation Biology in Oceania, ‘Science meets Action, Water meets Land‘, will be held from 5-8 July in Brisbane, Australia.