Oceania Distinguished Service Award

In alternate years, SCB Oceania awards a Distinguished Service Award to acknowledge an individual or institution who has made significant contributions to conservation biology within Oceania.

The Oceania Distinguished Service Awards are presented biennially at the SCB Oceania Congress. This regional award has the same prestige as the Global Distinguished Service Awards given in ICCB years (see below).

SCBO is committed to celebrating and supporting diversity. To achieve this, we welcome award nominations from all career stages, all backgrounds, and all genders. We encourage more nominations from women and Pacific Islanders for all awards.

Previous Oceania Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2018: Associate Professor James Russell, University of Auckland.

For outstanding contributions to conservation biology through his leading research in rodent biology and eradication and his impact on national conservation policy.

2016: Locally Managed Marine Areas Network (LMMA), Fiji

For extraordinary achievements in advancing and scaling up the practice of community-based marine resource management and conservation in Oceania.

Global Awards

SCB’s global awards, presented every other year at the ICCB, are given to individuals, groups, or institutions for distinguished service in any field associated with conservation biology and whose work has furthered the mission of SCB.

We are proud to that many global award recipients have come from Oceania. Recent awardees include:

Richard Kingsford, Distinguished Service Award, 2019

Sue Miller-Taei, Edward T. LaRoe III Memorial Award, 2015

Stacy Jupiter, Early Career Conservationist Award, 2015

John Woinarski, Distinguished Service Award, 2013

James Watson, Early Career Conservationist Award, 2013

William Laurance, Distinguished Service Award, 2011

Helene Marsh, Distinguished Service Award, 2008